Other

Settings

General

Keep user interface running when main window closes - ManicTime consists of two processes - ManicTime.exe (tracker) and ManicTimeClient.exe (User interface). If this is checked, when you close the main window, ManicTimeClient.exe will keep on running. This will consume more memory, but it will also show up more quickly when you click on ManicTime icon, since it is already running in the background.
If you want to conserve memory, uncheck it. This will unload ManicTimeClient.exe every time you close it, releasing any memory it was using, but it will start up slower.

Always run minimized - when checked, only ManicTime tracker will start, but the main window will not pop up

Start when Windows starts - when checked, ManicTime will be started when Windows starts

Automatically check for updates - ManicTime checks our server for updates once a day. To disable this behavior uncheck this option.

First day of week - select with which day the week starts

Shift day start by (hours) - set the hour with which the day starts More about this

Localization - ManicTime is offered in a few languages. If you would like to translate it to some other language not on the list, you can read more about it here.

Use decimal hour format for day summary and Use decimal hour format for statistics - decimal hour format is displayed as 5,5h while normal hour format would be 5:30.

Tracking

Time is marked as Away when:

  • computer is not used for 10 minutes - if you are not using a computer for more then 10 minutes (not moving mouse or typing on the keyboard) Away time is triggered
  • screen saver is active - Away time is triggered when screen saver is activated

We recommend you use the first option since "screen saver" method can be unreliable. "Screen saver" method is useful when for example you watch a lot of movies, where you don't interact with computer but you are still using it. In cases like this, movie players often block screen saver from showing while the movie is playing. In this case the screen saver method is a better choice, since it will correctly display Away time, while the "computer not used" method will just show Away after 10 minutes. If you use the "screen saver" method, make sure you have either screen saver or monitor off enabled. If both are disabled ManicTime will never show Away time.

Show overnight Away - If you leave your computer running through the night, it will show up as Away time. Let's say you are interested in knowing how much Away time you have only during the work time. If you uncheck this, overnight Away time will be hidden, so only Away time during the work day will be shown.
Track window titles - When unchecked Manictime will only track which applications you are using, but not what was in the title of the window. Document timeline will also be empty.

Privacy and notifications

Show icon - when unchecked, there will be no ManicTime icon in the system tray even though it will be running in the background. You can open the UI by clicking on the ManicTime in Start menu (as if you want to start it)

Show notifications after away - even though ManicTime provides you with a lot of information about your computer usage, it doesn't give you any clues as to what you were doing while Away. This could be a problem, especially if you tag your time at a later date, since you can often forget what you were doing at some time.
If you check this option ManicTime will display Add tag window upon return to your computer and you can quickly write a tag which describes your actions while Away. Depending on the setting ManicTime will either display Add tag dialog or just show a hint near the icon in the system tray.
Disable Away pop up when stopwatch is running - Usually when you use a stopwatch you are already working on something, so the Away pop up you receive when coming from inactivity is unneeded.

If Show icon is unchecked, notifications for Away time are not displayed.

Password protect - When password is set, ManicTime will work in the following way:
On windows start up you wont have to provide any password until you want to open up UI window. This means that ManicTime doesn't need the password to start tracking, it will only require it when you want to view the data.
Once you insert the password, UI will be unlocked and from then on you won't have to enter it any more. To manually lock it again once you entered the password, right click on the system tray icon and choose Lock.

When password is set, ManicTime also encrypts the database, so even if you open the database with some other tool you will still have to provide the password.

Scheduled backup

You can schedule a backup of the database. If ManicTime was not running at the time the backup should be created, it will run next time it is started. You can use Backup now button to test the settings.